Ferguson Mixtape

by Rooster Jake

(free) 32:41


An impromptu DJ mix i made of some songs i feel relevant to the situation in Ferguson, mixed and remixed on August 13, 2014, 4 days after Mike Brown was shot in cold blood by police in the St. Louis Suburb.
I am a St. Louis native living in Denver, and while i'm sure i would have a lot to say and do about it if i was in my hometown, i instead used a creative outlet to let art speak for me, other people's art in fact. From Chinx Drugz to Killer Mike, Atmosphere to Lil Boosie, Goodie Mob to Amy Goodman and Populous to Bob Marley, this mix, much like the ongoing protest and unrest, are based on the struggles of the underclasses of America with Police and Authority, but not all inherently coming from the exact same place or point of view. Rap and it's influences and derivatives speak to me at a time like this. A way of speaking over a beautiful beat without being interrupted by bullshit news coverage. Love and Respect to my entire community in St. Louis and abroad, and don't forget:


released August 13, 2014

1. Chinx Drugz/ Rich Homie Quan - Feelings/Some Type of Way
2. Dave Sitek & EL-P/YG & Young Jeezy - Sea Legs/My Hitta
3. Populous - My Winter's Vacation
4. Bone Thugs & Akon/Fugees & Nas - I Tried/If I Ruled the World
5. Octopus Jones/Amy Goodman - Ever/Democracy Now!
6. Atmosphere - Millie Fell Off the Fire Escape
7. Goodie Mob/Lil Boosie & Webbie - Cell Therapy/Fuck the Police
8. Bob Marley/Killer Mike & EL-P - Dem Belly Full/Don't Die




RoosterJake Missouri

Rooster Jake Cohen performed solo as Barely Free in a set of the sort of music he might have as part of the beat for the hip- hop version of the outfit. And there was something great about seeing a guy wearing a Larry Bird jersey, a Moog hat, jean shorts and oddly patterned leggings manipulating samples, operating what looked like a modular synth and otherwise creating noisy yet melodic atmospheres ... more

contact / help

Contact RoosterJake

Streaming and
Download help